Research

Research is a very important aspect of the activities conducted by Santé Diabète because it improves the effectiveness of our actions and the evaluation of our programs.

It also enables us to develop new approaches by directly linking the results of these research actions to the implementation programs. Our participation in research work, set up in Africa or in France, is carried out in collaboration with many international universities, health structures or research centers.

AREAS OF RESEARCH

  • Nutrition/diet
  • Reduction of diabetes risk factors
  • New therapeutic approaches
  • Access to treatments
  • Therapeutic education
  • Health information systems
  • Economic impact of diabetes
  • Traditional medicine
  • Medical anthropology
  • Health Litteracy

MAIN RESEARCH PROJECTS

Study on the exploration of health literacy for people with diabetes in Mali, Burkina Faso and the Union of the Comoros

The interest of meeting the health literacy needs of patients with chronic diseases has been highlighted by numerous public health studies, in terms of individual and population benefits. Therefore it seemed essential to Santé Diabète to conduct a study to assess the level of health literacy with diabetes in Mali and health professionals. For this, we have called on long-standing partner, such as the La Reunion University Hospital and the University of La Reunion. The main elements resulting from the synthesis of the study show on the one hand the place of the doctor who remains by far the main referent in several areas: the referent in terms of management and monitoring of the disease, the referent in terms of health information. On the other hand, "the sick person cannot be considered as being solely the bearer of a pathology: he is above all a social being, in dynamics and in perpetual interaction with other individuals of the family, of the world of work or neighborhood, in specific geographical, cultural and economic environments”. The support is primarily moral and takes the form of help from the family with regard to food, treatment or attendance at consultations; then sometimes financial with the purchase of drugs.

For more information : https://www.who.int/healthpromotion/health-literacy/en/

 

Switch insulin, in Mali

The study "Evaluation of the impact of the introduction of a long-acting analogue insulin on the clinical results and quality of life of young patients with diabetes in Mali" was developed by a group of researchers including Malian medical specialists led by Dr Togo, teams from the NGO Santé Diabète, teams from the Life For A Child Program, teams from the Hospitals and University of Geneva and finally Dr De Beaufort, President of ISPAD.

 

ACCISS study "Addressing the challenge and constraints of insulin sources and supply"

 

The Acciss Study is a multicenter study conducted by Health Action International, the University of Geneva and Boston University in the United States that includes Mali, Tanzania, Peru and Kyrzygstan.

The objective is to improve access to insulin by analyzing the opportunities and constraints linked to its availability, as well as all the medical devices necessary for the injection of insulin (syringes, readers and blood glucose strips...).

Santé Diabète is coordinating the implementation of this study in Mali, together with the Ministry of Health and specialist doctors.

For more information : http://haiweb.org/what-we-do/acciss-fact-sheets/

Recherche

La recherche est une activité très importante pour l’ONG Santé Diabète car elle permet d’améliorer l’efficacité de nos actions et l’évaluation de nos programmes.

Elle nous permet aussi de développer de nouvelles approches en articulant directement les résultats de ces actions de recherche sur les programmes de mise en œuvre. Notre participation à des travaux de recherche, mis en place en Afrique ou en France, est réalisée en collaboration avec de nombreuses universités internationales, des structures de santé ou des centres de recherche.

Domaines de recherche

  • Nutrition
  • Réduction des facteurs de risque du diabète
  • Nouvelles approches thérapeutiques
  • Accès aux traitements
  • Education thérapeutique
  • Systèmes d'information sanitaire
  • Impact économique du diabète
  • Médecine traditionnelle
  • Anthropologie médicale
  • Health Litteracie

Principaux projets de recherche

Etude sur l'exploration de la litteracie en Santé des personnes atteintes de diabète au Mali, au Burkina faso et en union des comores

L’intérêt de répondre aux besoins de littéracie en santé chez les patients atteints de maladies chroniques a été souligné par de nombreuses recherches en santé publique, en termes de bénéfices individuels et populationnels. Il a semblé essentiel à Santé Diabète de mener une étude visant à évaluer le niveau de LS des patients atteints de diabète au Mali et des professionnels de santé. Pour cela, nous avons fait appel à des partenaires de longue date, comme le CHU de la Réunion et l’Université de la Réunion. Les principaux éléments issus de la synthèse de l’étude montrent d’une part la place du médecin qui reste de loin le principal référent dans plusieurs domaines : le référent en termes de gestion et de suivi de la maladie, le référent en termes d’informations en santé. D’autre part, « la personne malade ne peut pas être considérée comme étant uniquement porteuse d’une pathologie : c’est avant tout un être social, en dynamique et en interaction perpétuelle avec d’autres individus de la famille, du monde du travail ou du voi- sinage, dans des environnements géographique, culturel et économique spécifiques ». Le soutien est d’abord moral et se traduit par une aide de la famille concernant l’alimentation, le traitement ou la présence lors des consultations ; puis parfois financier avec l’achat de médicaments.

Pour en savoir plus : https://www.who.int/healthpromotion/health-literacy/en/

 

Switch insulin, au Mali

L’étude « Évaluation de l’impact de l’introduction d'une insuline analogue d’action prolongée, sur les résultats cliniques et la qualité de vie des jeunes patients atteints de diabète au Mali » a été développée par un groupe de chercheurs incluant les médecins spécialistes maliens sous le lead du Dr Togo, les équipes de l’ONG Santé Diabète, les équipes du Programme Life For A Child, les équipes des Hôpitaux et de l’Université de Genève et enfin le Dr De Beaufort présidente de l’ISPAD.

 

Etude ACCISS "Addressing the challenge and constraints of insulin sources and supply"

 

L’étude Acciss est une étude multicentrique menée par Health Action International, l’université de Genève et l’université de Boston aux Etats-Unis qui inclut le Mali, la Tanzanie, le Pérou et le Kirzygstan.

L’objectif est d’améliorer l’accès à l’insuline en analysant les opportunités et les contraintes liées à sa disponibilité mais aussi de tous les dispositifs médicaux nécessaires à l’injection de l’insuline (seringues, lecteurs et bandelettes de glycémie...).

Santé Diabète coordonne, avec le Ministère de la Santé et les médecins spécialistes, la mise en œuvre de cette étude au Mali.

Pour en savoir plus : http://haiweb.org/what-we-do/acciss-fact-sheets/