NGO Santé Diabète
Program in Burkina Faso

Find out the action implemented in Burkina Faso by Santé Diabète since 2012 to improve health care conditions and to raise awareness in the population.

Context & key figures

Burkina Faso is one of the countries where the density of health professionals is one of the lowest in the world, with only 1 doctor and 5 nurses on average per 10,000 inhabitants. This shortage significantly limits the country's ability to provide its population with sufficient and equitable health services, with very high treatment prices. The fight against non communication diseases (NCDs), including diabetes, has become a priority with more than 30% of the adult population affected by an NCD.

 

Human Development Index (HDI)
Développement Humain (IDH)
th
out of 189 countries
Diabetes prevalence
%
Overweight
%
Obesity
%
Cost of diabetes: 1 month of diabetes care =
%
of a family income

Santé Diabète began its field activities in Burkina Faso in 2012.

An analysis of the situation confirmed that the difficulties were similar to those analyzed in 2003 in Mali, and included :

  • Geographic and financial accessibility barriers to diabetes care
  • A lack of medicines, consultation, follow-up and diagnostic devices
  • A lack of health professionals trained in the management of diabetes
  • A lack of prevention programs
  • A health system not adapted to the management of chronic diseases

Our action

Based on the experience developed in Mali, Santé Diabète has set up a structuring program with a global approach including all the axes necessary for the implementation of prevention and quality diabetes care.

strengthening human resources

medicaments

access to medicines

traitement

strengthening of technical platforms and biological diagnostic tools

education

development of prevention and therapeutic education programs

apprentissages

support to the structuring of associations of people with diabetes locally, regionally and at the national level.

Our impact

Our support to the national diabetes program in Burkina Faso has enabled the Ministry of Health as well as people with diabetes in different regions of the country to obtain important results.

Strengthening of national policy documents

Support to the drafting of a national guide for the management of diabetes.

Support of civil society

Santé Diabète has developed close collaboration with two key players in the fight against diabetes in Burkina Faso: the Association Burkinabé d'Aide aux Diabétiques (ABAD) and the Association Vivre avec son Diabète.

Prevention

In connection with the Ministries of Health, the Ministries of Education and patient associations, we have implemented many activities to improve prevention and earlier diagnosis of diabetes :

  • Organization of 2 global diabetes days accompanied by prevention campaigns in the media.
  • Setting up of 50 days of screening for diabetes and its risk factors.
  • Carrying out of sessions of prevention in schools and high schools which reached 3,138 students on diabetes risk factor.

Strengthening the skills of healthcare professionals

  • Training of 140 health professionals from different regions of Burkina Faso on the management of diabetes.
  • Development and animation of a network of referring physicians in charge of diabetes consultations (CHU Yalgado).
  • Organization of the trainings of focal points to better integrate the management of diabetes / TB and diabetes / HIV co-morbidities (16 patient peer educators trained).

In 2013, only 3.8% of health districts in Burkina Faso had health professionals trained in diabetes management. In 2019, thanks to the action of Santé Diabète, all (100%) of the health districts in Burkina Faso have diabetes management trained health professionals.

burkina-cartes-1
campagne-de-prevention-et-depistage

A prevention & screening session in Burkina Faso

Testimony

mme dramera burkina copie

BINTOU DRAMERA

type 2 diabetic, founder of the association Vivre Avec Son Diabète

"Santé Diabète has helped me a lot to learn how to daily live better with my disease and to strengthen my knowledge of diabetes. During workshops on diet, I learned how to prepare and eat balanced dishes, including local dishes. I was also explained how to practice a physical activity - such as walking - adapted to my rhythm of life. Thanks to the training of Santé Diabète on the techniques of animations, I now accompany as a pair educator people in my community to help them live with their diabetes and avoid complications."

FOCUS : TRAINING ON HIV,
TUBERCULOSIS &
DIABETES COMORBIDITIES

In 2018, we set up a cycle of continuing medical training for health professionals, doctors and nurses on the management of diabetes/tuberculosis and diabetes/HIV comorbidities as well as a network of peer educators from associations of people with diabetes and HIV/AIDS.

Initially, the aim of this action was to include the management of patients with co-morbidities. Secondly, it enabled the integration of diabetes risk factors prevention in people with HIV/AIDS and the prevention of HIV/AIDS in people with diabetes. This pilot action, critical to strengthen the country's health system, will be continued and strengthened in the next years.

THE NEW « CONVENTION PROGRAM »
2020 - 2023

The objective of this new program agreement will be to improve the quality of life and health of populations in the targeted countries (Burkina Faso, Mali and the Union of the Comoros) by consolidating the place and the role of civil society (patient associations and associations of healthcare professionals) in a multi-stakeholder network around diabetes to improve prevention, care and support for people affected by this disease. It will also aim to strengthen the use in the global North of the expertise developed in the global South. Finally, it will enable to continue the strengthening the organization and the governance of the NGO Santé Diabète.

The challenge of this three-year program agreement is to continue strengthening the political and strategic frameworks including the fight against diabetes and the health system in order to train even more specialists and generalist health professionals to be able to improve the healthcare of patients with diabetes, but also to continue geographic and financial accessibility to anti-diabetic treatments, in particular insulin. Besides, by supporting the structuring of a diabetes prevention center in each country of intervention, Santé Diabète will allow the strengthening of prevention, care and support actions for people with diabetes and people with risk factors linked to this disease while guiding civil society towards its empowerment.

Even though this program agreement is implemented in Burkina Faso, the Union of the Comoros and Mali, specific objectives have been defined for each country according to the needs identified with the various national implementing partners.

ACHIEVING THESE OBJECTIVES IN BURKINA FASO WILL BE THROUGH :

  • The celebration of 3 world diabetes days and the organization of 60 days of diabetes screening and its risk factors (free of charge for people).
  • Awareness raising :
    • of 21,000 people and and 2,000 people with risk factors through a prevention program using peer educators (18) the media (100 shows) and NICTs
    • of 3,300 primary and high school students through a prevention cycle on good health behavior
    • training of 25 journalists working on health
  • Strengthening the health system through the training of :
    • Improving the availability and lower the prices of essential medicines used against diabetes
    • Strengthening therapeutic education for patients with diabetes through the establishment of a network of peer educators
  • Establishment of a « prevention house » held by associations to strengthen prevention actions and therapeutic education
  • Strengthening of 8 associations of patients and health professionals
  • Consolidation of the role and actions of these associations
  • The reinforcement :
    • of the national response to diabetes
    • of national standards and procedures for the management of diabetes at the level of the Ministry of Health
    • other policy documents including diabetes (nutrition, maternal health, etc.)
    • of the inclusion of diabetes in the Universal Health Coverage (UHC)

This program is supported by two main partners: the French Development Agency (AFD) and the World Diabetes Foundation (WDF). It also receives support from other national and international partners such as the Auvergne Rhône Alpes region, the City of Grenoble, the Life For A Child program ...

Download the presentation sheet 1 for more information on this program.

2ND PHASE OF THE PROJECT ON PREVENTION AND MANAGEMENT OF DIABETES/HIV/TB COMORBIDITIES

This project is the continuity of a first innovative three-year project aiming at integrating the prevention and management of diabetes/HIV and diabetes/TB comorbidities in Burkina Faso and Mali. This new project will take place in the two Saharan African countries already targeted by the previous project and will be extended to the Union of the Comoros in the Indian Ocean.

This new project will allow :

  • At public policies and national strategies levels : the definition of in-depth standards and procedures based on the curricula of defined health professionals and the definition of the related technical documents; taking into account co-morbidities in the next country concept notes and finally strengthening the knowledge and capacities of CCMs on these themes.
  • At the operational level: continuing to build the capacities of health professionals involved in the management of diabetes, TB and HIV with the development of a clinical mentoring component complementary to theoretical training; the extension of community prevention actions carried out by the PEP networks formed in the two countries with stronger mobilization of civil society organizations (CSOs) and of patient organizations; strengthening of therapeutic education strategies adapted to the comorbidities developed during the previous project.

Even though this program agreement is implemented in Burkina Faso, the Union of the Comoros and Mali, specific objectives have been defined for each country according to the needs identified with the various national implementing partners.

ACHIEVING THESE OBJECTIVES IN BURKINA FASO WILL BE THROUGH :

  • Strengthening of 3 national diabetes programs on the prevention and management of HIV and tuberculosis co-morbidities
  • Strengthening CCMs on the prevention and management of co-morbidities
  • Strengthening the skills of 13 patient associations and CSOs
  • Establishment of a community network of 26 trained community PEPs
  • Training on the management of comorbidities of :
    • 144 healthcare professionals working in 3rd referral structures
    • 80 healthcare professionals working in 2nd referral structures
  • 2,250 patients in total with diabetes and TB or diabetes and HIV who will have access to better quality care
  • 5,000 people with diabetes will have access to HIV and TB awareness
  • 10,000 PLWHIV will have access to awareness raising on the risk factors for diabetes and TB.

This program is supported by the 5PC Initiative.

Download the presentation sheet 2 for more information on this program.

ONG santé diabète
Programme BURKINA FASO

Découvrez l'action que Santé Diabète mène depuis 2012 au Burkina Faso pour améliorer les conditions de prise en charge, sensibiliser et éduquer la population.

Contexte

Le Burkina Faso est un des pays où la densité de professionnels de santé est l’une des plus faibles au monde avec seulement 1 médecin et 5 infirmiers en moyenne pour 10 000 habitants. Cette pénurie restreint sensiblement la capacité du pays à fournir à sa population des services de santé suffisants et équitables, avec des coûts de traitements qui sont très élevés. La lutte contre les MNTs – dont le diabète – est devenue une priorité avec plus de 30 % de la population adulte touchée par une MNT.

 

Indice de
Développement Humain (IDH)
ème
sur 189 pays
Prévalence diabète
%
Surpoids
%
Obesité
%
Coût du diabète : 1 mois de prise en charge du diabète =
%
des revenus d'une famille

Santé Diabète a débuté ses actions de terrain au Burkina Faso en 2012.

Une analyse de la situation a permis de confirmer que les difficultés étaient proches de celles analysées en 2003 au Mali à savoir :

  • Des difficultés d’accessibilité géographique et financière aux soins du diabète
  • Un manque de médicaments, de matériel de consultation et de matériel d’analyse
  • Un manque de professionnels de santé formés pour la prise en charge du diabète
  • Un manque de programmes de prévention
  • Un système de santé non adapté à la prise en charge des maladies chroniques

Notre action

En se basant sur l’expérience développée au Mali, Santé Diabète a mis en place un programme structurant avec une approche globale incluant tous les axes nécessaires à la mise en place d’une prévention et d’une prise en charge de qualité diabète.

le renforcement des ressources humaines

medicaments

l’accès aux médicaments

traitement

le renforcement des plateaux techniques et des bilans biologiques

education

le développement de programmes de prévention et d’éducation thérapeutique

apprentissages

un appui à la structuration des associations de patients diabétiques de façon locale, régionale et nationale.

Notre impact

Notre appui à la politique nationale de lutte contre le diabète au Burkina Faso a permis d’obtenir des résultats importants pour le Ministère de la Santé ainsi que  pour les personnes atteintes de diabète des différentes régions du pays.

Renforcement des documents de politiques nationales

Appui à la rédaction d’un guide national de prise en charge du diabète.

Appui à la société civile

Santé Diabète a développé une collaboration étroite avec deux acteurs clés de la lutte contre le diabète au Burkina Faso : l’Association Burkinabé d’Aide aux Diabétiques (ABAD) et l’Association Vivre avec son Diabète.

Prévention

En lien avec les Ministères de la Santé, les Ministères de l’Education et les associations de patients, nous avons mis en œuvre de nombreuses activités pour une meilleure prévention et un diagnostic plus précoce du diabète :

  • Organisation de 2 journées mondiales du diabète s’accompagnant de campagnes de prévention dans les médias.
  • Mise en place de 50 journées de dépistages du diabète et de ses facteurs de risque.
  • Réalisation de 122 séances de prévention des facteurs de risque du diabète dans les écoles et les lycées qui ont touché 3 138 élèves.

Renforcement des compétences des professionnels de santé

  • Formation de 140 professionnels de santé des différentes régions du Burkina sur la prise en charge du diabète.
  • Construction et animation d’un réseau de médecins référents en charge de consultations diabète (CHU Yalgado).
  • Réalisation de formations des points focaux diabète / VIH et Tuberculose (TB) pour intégrer la prise en charge des comorbidités diabète / TB et diabète / VIH (16 patients pairs éducateurs formés).

En 2013, seulement 3,8% des districts sanitaires du Burkina Faso disposaient de professionnels de santé formés à la prise en charge du diabète. En 2019, grâce à l’action de Santé Diabète, l’ensemble (100%) des districts sanitaires du Burkina Faso en sont dotés.

burkina-cartes-1
campagne-de-prevention-et-depistage

Campagne de prévention & de dépistage

Témoignage

mme dramera burkina copie

Bintou DRAMERA

diabétique de type 2, fondatrice de l’association Vivre Avec Son Diabète

"Santé Diabète m’a beaucoup aidée à apprendre à mieux vivre au quotidien avec ma maladie et à renforcer mes connaissances du diabète. Lors d’ateliers autour de l’alimentation, j’ai appris comment préparer et manger des plats équilibrés et qui sont aussi des plats locaux. On m’a également expliqué comment pratiquer une activité physique – comme la marche – adaptée à mon rythme de vie. Grâce à la formation de Santé Diabète sur les techniques d’animations, j’accompagne à présent en tant que paire éducatrice des personnes de ma communauté pour les aider à vivre avec leur diabète et à éviter les complications."

Focus : Formation sur
les comorbidités
VIH / diabète / tuberculose

En 2018, nous avons mis en place un cycle de formations médicales continues des professionnels de santé, médecins et infirmiers, sur la gestion des comorbidités diabète / tuberculose et diabète / VIH ainsi qu’un réseau de pairs éducateurs issus des associations de personnes atteintes de diabète et du VIH / Sida.

Dans un premier temps, le but de cette action était d’inclure la prise en charge des patients atteints par des comorbidités. Dans un second temps, elle a permis d’intégrer la prévention des facteurs de risque du diabète chez les personnes atteintes par le VIH / Sida et la prévention du VIH / Sida chez les personnes atteintes de diabète. Cette action pilote, essentielle pour renforcer le système de santé du pays, sera poursuivie et renforcée au cours de l’année 2019.

La nouvelle Convention Programme
2020 - 2023

Cette nouvelle convention programme aura pour objectif d’améliorer la qualité de vie et la santé des populations des pays ciblés (Burkina Faso, Mali et Union des Comores) en consolidant la place et le rôle de la société civile (associations de patients et associations de professionnels de santé) dans un réseau multi acteurs autour du diabète pour améliorer la prévention, la prise en charge et l’accompagnement des personnes atteintes par cette maladie. Elle aura aussi pour objectif de renforcer l’utilisation au nord de l’expertise développée au sud. Enfin, elle permettra de poursuivre le renforcement de la gouvernance et l’organisation de l’ONG Santé Diabète.

L’enjeu de cette convention programme triennale est de poursuivre le renforcement des cadres politiques et stratégiques incluant la lutte contre le diabète et le système de santé afin de former encore plus de spécialistes et de professionnels généralistes pour pouvoir accroitre la prise en charge des patients atteints de diabète mais aussi de poursuivre l’accessibilité géographique et financière aux traitements antidiabétiques notamment l’insuline. En plus, via l’appui à la structuration d’une maison de la prévention du diabète dans chaque pays d’intervention Santé Diabète permettra le renforcement des actions de prévention, de prise en charge et d’accompagnement des personnes atteintes de diabète et des personnes présentant des facteurs de risques liés à cette maladie tout en guidant la société civile vers son autonomisation.

Même si cette convention programme est mise en œuvre au Burkina Faso, en Union des Comores et au Mali, des objectifs spécifiques ont été définis pour chaque pays en fonction des besoins identifiés avec les différents partenaires nationaux de mise en œuvre.

L'atteinte de ces objectifs au Burkina Faso passera par :

  • La célébration de 3 journées mondiales du diabète et l’organisation de 60 journées de dépistage gratuit du diabète et de ses facteurs de risque
  • La sensibilisation :
    • de 21 000 personnes et 2000 personnes présentant des facteurs de risque par un programme de prévention utilisant les pairs éducateurs (18) les médias (100 émissions) et les NTIC
    • de 3.300 élèves d’écoles primaires et de lycées par un cycle de prévention sur les bons comportements en santé
    • grâce à la formation de 25 journalistes travaillant sur la santé
  • Le reforcement du système de santé grâce :
    • A l’amélioration de la disponibilité et du prix des médicaments essentiels dans la lutte contre le diabète
    • Au renforcement de l’éducation thérapeutique des patients atteints de diabète grâce à la mise en place d’un réseau de pairs éducateurs
  • La mise en place d’une maison de la prévention par les associations pour renforcer les actions de prévention et d’éducation thérapeutique
  • Le renforcement de 8 associations de patients et de professionnels de santé
  • La consolidation du rôle et des actions de ces associations
  • Le renforcement :
    • de la politique nationale de lutte contre le diabète
    • des normes et procédures nationales pour la prise en charge du diabète au niveau du Ministère de la Santé
    • des autres documents politiques incluant le diabète (nutrition, santé maternelle …)
    • De la prise en compte du diabète dans la Couverture Sanitaire Universelle (CSU)

Ce programme est accompagné par deux partenaires principaux : l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) et la World Diabetes Foundation (WDF). Il reçoit aussi le soutien d’autres partenaires internationaux comme la région Auvergne Rhône Alpes, de la Mairie de Grenoble, du programme Life For A Child ...

Téléchargez la fiche de présentation 1 pour avoir plus d'informations sur ce programme.

2ème Phase du projet de prévention et prise en charge des comorbidités Diabète / VIH / TB

Ce projet fait suite à un premier projet innovant de trois ans visant à intégrer la prévention et la prise en charge des comorbidités Diabète / VIH et Diabète / TB au Burkina Faso et au Mali. Ce nouveau projet interviendra dans les deux pays d’Afrique Saharienne déjà ciblés par le précédent projet et sera élargi à l’Union des Comores dans l’Océan Indien.

Ce nouveau projet permettra :

  • Aux niveaux politiques publiques et stratégies nationales : la définition de normes et procédures approfondies à partir des curricula des professionnels de santé définis et la définition des documents techniques y afférant ; la prise en compte des co-morbidités dans les prochaines notes conceptuelles pays et enfin le renforcement des connaissances et capacités des CCM sur ces thématiques.
  • Au niveau opérationnel : la poursuite du renforcement des capacités des professionnels de santé impliqués dans la gestion de personnes atteints par le diabète, la TB et le VIH avec le développement d’un volet de compagnonnage clinique complémentaire aux formations théoriques ; l’extension des actions de prévention communautaires menées par les réseaux de PPE formés dans les deux pays avec une mobilisation plus forte des organisations de la société civile (OSC) et des organisations de patients ; le renforcement des stratégies d’éducation thérapeutique adaptées aux comorbidités développées au cours du projet précédent.

Même si cette convention programme est mise en œuvre au Burkina Faso, en Union des Comores et au Mali, des objectifs spécifiques ont été définis pour chaque pays en fonction des besoins identifiés avec les différents partenaires nationaux de mise en œuvre.

L'atteinte de ces objectifs au Burkina Faso passera par :

  • Le renforcement de 3 programmes nationaux de lutte contre le diabète, de la TB et du VIH sur la prévention et la prise en charge des comorbidités
  • Le renforcement du CCM sur la prévention et la prise en charge des comorbidités
  • Le renforcement des compétences de 13 associations de patients et OSC
  • La mise en place d’un réseau communautaire de 26 PPE communautaires formés
  • La formation sur la prise en charge des comorbidités de :
    • 144 professionnels de santé évoluant dans les structures de 3ème référence
    • 80 professionnels de santé évoluant dans les structures de 2ème référence
  • 2 250 patients au total atteints de diabète et TB ou diabète et VIH qui auront accès à une prise en charge de meilleure qualité
  • 5 000 personnes atteintes de diabète auront accès à une sensibilisation sur le VIH et la TB
  • 10 000 PVVIH auront accès à une sensibilisation sur les facteurs de risque du diabète et de la TB.

Ce programme est accompagné par l’Initiative 5PC.

Téléchargez la fiche de présentation 2 pour avoir plus d'informations sur ce programme.